2017-18 AUS women's hockey awards and all-stars announced

2017-18 AUS women's hockey awards and all-stars announced

Atlantic University Sport is pleased to announce the 2017-18 AUS women's hockey all-stars and major award winners as selected by the conference's seven head coaches.

Fifth-year StFX forward Daley Oddy was named the Atlantic University Sport most valuable player.

Other AUS major award winners announced today were StFX's Emerson Elliott from Aurora, Ont., who was named rookie of the year; Saint Mary's Nicole Blanche of Dunville, N.L. who was named the league's top defensive player for the second consecutive season; Saint Mary's Breanna Lanceleve of Middle Sackville, N.S., who was selected as the most sportsmanlike player; Saint Mary's Beatrice Harrietha from Guelph, Ont., who earned the student-athlete community service award for the second consecutive year; and StFX's head coach Ben Berthiaume who was named the AUS coach of the year.

Emma Martin named Second Team All-Star

Second Team All-Stars:
Goaltender: Carley Molnar, StFX (2nd year, London, Ont.)
Defence: Hannah Askin, Saint Mary's (4th year – Waterloo, Ont.)
Defence: Emma Martin, UPEI (5th year – Winsloe, P.E.I.)
Forward: Lisa MacLean, Dalhousie (5th year – Inverness, N.S.)
Forward: Katryne Villeneuve, Université de Moncton (4th year – Casselman, Ont.)
Forward: Mary Worndl, Saint Mary's (4th year – Kitchener, Ont.)